# BOARD SUMMARY OPENAND CLOSED SESSIONS APRIL 15, 2024

### Reorganization

Mr. Mike Henry, Superintendent of Schools, called the Open Session for Reorganization of the Board to order at 6:45 pm on Monday, April 15, 2024. Members present: Janette Clark, Jeremy Devoto, Mitch Espy, Josh Hartman, Mark Messick, Craig Thomas, and Amy Wilkerson.

Mr. Henry read the Notice of Non-election.

Marta Fraker, Board Secretary, administered the Oath of Office to Board Members Craig Thomas and Mitch Espy.

Mark Messick made a motion to nominate Mitch Espy as Board President. Jeremy Devoto seconded. Nominations ceased, motion carried with a vote 6-0-1 (Mitch Espy abstained).

Mitch Espy made a motion to nominate Mark Messick as Board Vice-President. Amy Wilkerson seconded. Nominations ceased, motion carried 6-0-1 (Mark Messick abstained).

### Open Session

Mitch Espy, President, called the newly reorganized board to order at 6:49 pm. Members present: Janette Clark, Jeremy Devoto, Mitch Espy, Josh Hartman, Mark Messick, Craig Thomas, and Amy Wilkerson.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mitch Espy.

The Board recited the District Purpose Statement.

Board Spotlight: District Transportation Team

Jeremy Devoto made a motion to approve the Agenda as presented. Amy Wilkerson seconded and carried with a vote 7-0.

There were no public comments addressing the agenda.

#### **Executive Leadership Reports:**

- Superintendent's Report Mr. Mike Henry
- Assistant Superintendent Report: Academics Dr. Garrett Lowder
- Assistant Superintendent Report: Operations Mr. Josh Hume

### **Informational Items and Reports:**

- Treasurer's Report
- School News
- Enrollment
- Other Reports:

- Parent Volunteer Hours Report
- Leadership PF Participation Reports
- Summer School
- OPAA!

## Consent Agenda

Craig Thomas made a motion to approve the consent agenda as presented. Consent agenda items: Approval and acceptance of Information Items and Reports; Accounts Payable, March 19, 2024 - April 15, 2024; Minutes, March 19, 2024 - Open and Closed Sessions, April 3, 2024 - Special Closed Session; and Surplus Property. Jeremy Devoto seconded and carried with vote 7-0.

### **Unfinished Business**

There was no unfinished business for discussion.

### **New Business**

Jeremy Devoto made a motion to accept Field House Bid and VE Items and move forward with the project. Amy Wilkerson seconded. Motion carried with vote 7-0.

Amy Wilkerson made a motion to approve Hubble Flooring Bid, as presented. Mark Messick seconded. Motion carried with vote 7-0.

Janette Clark made a motion to approve Career Ladder Plans, as presented. Josh Hartman seconded. Motion carried with vote 7-0.

Craig Thomas made a motion to approve MVP Stipend Schedule for Credit Recovery, as presented. Josh Hartman seconded and carried with vote 7-0.

Jeremy Devoto made a motion to adjourn Open Session at 7:53pm. Amy Wilkerson seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

### **CLOSED SESSION**

Mitch Espy, President of the Marshfield R-I Board of Education, called the Closed Session meeting to order at 6:00 pm, on Monday, April 15, 2024. Members present: Janette Clark, Jeremy Devoto, Mitch Espy, Josh Hartman, Mark Messick, Craig Thomas, and Amy Wilkerson.

Jeremy Devoto made a motion to hire Calen Van Ness, Webster Assistant Principal, for the 2024-25 school year. Amy Wilkerson seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Mark Messick made a motion to approve <u>Employment Changes</u> as presented. Josh Hartman seconded and carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Craig Thomas made a motion to approve the High School Classified Staff list for the 2024-25 school year as presented. Janette Clark seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Amy Wilkerson made a motion to approve the Junior High Classified Staff list for the 2024-25 school year as presented. Mark Messick seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Craig Thomas made a motion to approve the Shook Elementary Classified Staff list for the 2024-25 school year as presented. Jeremy Devoto seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Amy Wilkerson made a motion to approve the Webster Elementary Classified Staff list for the 2024-25 school year as presented. Craig Thomas seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Mark Messick made a motion to approve the Hubble Elementary Classified Staff list for the 2024-25 school year as presented. Amy Wilkerson seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Jeremy Devoto made a motion to approve the Marshfield Early Learning Center Classified Staff list for the 2024-25 school year as presented. Janette Clark seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Josh Hartman made a motion to approve the Central Office Classified Staff list for the 2024-25 school year as presented. Jeremy Devoto seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Amy Wilkerson made a motion to approve the Transportation Classified Staff list for the 2024-25 school year as presented. Craig Thomas seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).

Janette Clark made a motion to adjourn closed session at 6:38 pm and proceed into Board Reorganization followed by Open Session. Amy Wilkerson seconded and motion carried with roll call vote 7-0 (Clark, Devoto, Espy, Hartman, Messick, Thomas, Wilkerson).